LPA 2013-14 Annual Report

Helpmann Awards 2014

On Monday 18 August, Live Performance Australia (LPA) presented the 14th annual Helpmann Awards at the Capitol Theatre, Sydney on the set of Disney’s The Lion King, previous winner of four Helpmann Awards including Best Musical. The Ceremony was also broadcast that same night on Foxtel's Arena Channel. Host Jonathan Biggins was joined by some of Australia’s most talented performers and industry leaders to announce this year’s winners. Further showcasing our diverse live performance industry, performances on the night included Disney’s The Lion King, Les Misérables, Strictly Ballroom The Musical, Djuki Mala, Mark Vincent, Zephyr Quartet and a special medley from The King and I featuring Lisa McCune, Teddy Tahu Rhodes and Lou Diamond Phillips. Taryn Fiebig was also joined by Dominic Grimshaw to perform Pie Jesu for the 2014 In Memoriam tribute.

This year, LPA presented very special lifetime achievement awards to two individuals both recognised as iconic figures within their respective fields. The JC Williamson Award™ was presented to revered producer, John Frost AM. The Award was presented by The Hon. Troy Grant, New South Wales Minister for the Arts, Hospitality, Gaming & Racing and Julie Andrews sent a special congratulatory video message. The inaugural Sue Nattrass Award ™ was presented to Patricia Boggs for her outstanding service to the Australian live performance industry. The Award was presented by Sue Nattrass AO and Cameron Mackintosh paid tribute to Patricia via a special video message.

This year, the Industry Panel and Helpmann Awards Administration Committee also bestowed an additional Award for Best Special Event, presented to Vivid Sydney 2013 – Destination New South Wales.

A host of well-known industry figures generously gave their time to present the 44 Awards, they included Geoffrey Rush, Nancye Hayes AM, Lucy Durack, Simon Gleeson, Pamela Rabe, Danielle Cormack, Simon Burke, Helen Dallimore, Teddy Tahu Rhodes, Craig McLachlan, Robert Grubb, Verity Hunt-Ballard, Linden Wilkinson, Kelley Abbey, James Reyne OAM, Deborah Conway, Lucinda Dunn OAM, Sydney Theatre Company’s The Wharf Revue, Gale Edwards, John Robertson OAM, Luke Carroll, David McAllister AM, Rafael Bonachela, award-winning English director, John Tiffany and Hollywood star, Lou Diamond Phillips.

At the Awards' conclusion, guests enjoyed the official VIP After Party hosted in the foyers of the Capitol Theatre.

We would like to extend our thanks to Executive Producer, Jon Nicholls, Associate Producer, Will Sheehan, Director Stuart Maunder and the entire Creative Team along with all the performers, presenters, crew members and volunteers who gave their time to making the 14th Helpmann Awards a huge success. We would also like to acknowledge each of our Sponsors, without whom this event would not be possible. In particular, we would like to thank our Strategic Partner, Destination NSW. Finally, we extend our thanks to the Helpmann Awards Administrative Committee (HAAC) and all members of the Helpmann Awards Nominating Panels.

Photo: 2014 Australian Production of Les Miserables - One Day More, Matt Murphy

Live Performance Australia™ would like to thank our 2014 Helpmann Awards Sponsors

  • Destination New South Wales
  • Foxtel
  • Media Super
  • Capitol Theatre
  • Ticketmaster
  • News Corp Australia
  • ACMN
  • MCA Insurance Brokers
  • TressCox Lawyers
  • Big Picture
  • PRG
  • JPJ Audio
  • Adina (Toga Far East Hotels)
  • BDO
  • ATS Logistics
  • AEG Ogden
  • Cameron Mackintosh Australia / Michael Cassel Group
  • Gordon Frost Organisation
  • House of Tickets
  • Perth Theatre Trust
  • Queensland Performing Arts Centre
  • Composite Images
  • Playbill
  • Adelaide Festival Centre
  • Forster Studios
  • Melbourne Recital Centre
  • Royale Limousines
  • Theatre Royal
  • Sydney Theatre Company

Photos: Jim Lee